Skip to content

SHARDOR US-CG835B2004 review

Sixteen settings on a flat burr mill, with a 2-to-14-cup auto-stop and a dual safety interlock — the lightest grinder on the shelf.

Where we land on it A flat burr, sixteen settings and an auto-stop between two and fourteen cups, at a price where the shelf stops expecting a timer at all. The lightest grinder here, and the one that publishes least about its burr.

What the maker puts in writing

  • Grind settings: 16
  • Burr: flat, metallic burr mill
  • Auto-stop: 2 to 14 cups
  • Dual safety interlock: hopper and chamber
  • Removable grounds chamber, anti-spill lid, brush included

The timer is the argument

This shelf has a grinder at nearly four times the price with an on/off switch and a pulse button. This one stops itself between two and fourteen cups.

That is not a verdict on which grinds better — nothing published here measures that. It is a verdict on which one asks less of you in the morning, and on that question the cheap end of this shelf wins outright.

Flat burrs, and what the listing does and does not say

Premium metallic flat burr mill ensures consistent, uniform grounds without burning beans.

The burr type is published. The diameter is not, and three grinders on this shelf do publish one. The claim about not burning beans is the maker’s wording and carries no figure — no listing here publishes a burr speed or a temperature.

The interlock

The grinder only operates when both the bean hopper and chamber are securely locked.

Unique on this shelf. It is a small thing until the chamber is half seated and the machine runs anyway.

Where this listing stops short

No hopper capacity, no burr diameter, no wattage. The sixteen settings are printed without the micro-adjustment language that lets the OXO pair claim far more positions than their front panel shows.

Availability

Read on the day this page was built: $40 at the American Amazon shop.

Read from Keepa on the day this page was last revised; stock and price both move without notice.

What it gets right, and wrong

Strengths

  • Stops itself between 2 and 14 cups, which the grinder costing nearly four times as much on this shelf does not do
  • The lightest grinder here at 1,157 g (40.8 oz) as listed — less than half the weight of the two most expensive
  • The only listing on this shelf to describe a safety interlock, and it names both conditions: hopper and chamber locked
  • A brush is included, and the grounds chamber comes out with an anti-spill lid

Compromises

  • A flat burr with no diameter published, where three grinders here give 40 mm (1.57 in)
  • No hopper capacity published — one of only two on this shelf that leaves it out
  • Sixteen settings is the second-lowest printed count here, and unlike OXO’s fifteen it is not described as having micro-adjustments on top

Where this one stands among its neighbors

At $40, it is the 2 cheapest of the 7 models in this category published here.

  • Least costly of the neighbors$34
  • Median$80
  • Most costly of the neighbors$160

Specifications

Grind settings16
BurrFlat, metallic burr mill
Burr diameterNot stated by the maker
Dose controlTimer dial, 2 to 14 cups, with automatic shut-off
Hopper capacityNot stated by the maker
SafetyDual interlock: runs only when hopper and chamber are both locked
CleaningRemovable grounds chamber with anti-spill lid; brush included
PowerNot stated by the maker
Weight (as listed)1,157 g (40.8 oz)
Amazon referenceB087F8N6W3
EAN0782905380875

What people want to know

Flat burr or conical — does it matter?

at least seven of the thirteen listings on this shelf publish which one they use, which is unusually consistent. Two are flat, this one and the Amazon Basics, and they are the two cheapest. No listing here publishes a particle-size figure, so the type is stated and its effect is not measured.

Does it really stop on its own?

The listing says so plainly: a dial selects 2 to 14 cups, runs hands-free and shuts off when finished. On this shelf that is a feature shared with the Amazon Basics at 4 to 12 cups, and absent from the most expensive grinder but one.

How many beans does it hold?

The listing does not say, and the gap is worth naming: five of these seven grinders publish a hopper capacity. What is published here is the output side — 2 to 14 cups per run.

What is the dual safety interlock?

The maker describes it as a system where the grinder only operates when both the bean hopper and the chamber are securely locked. No other listing on this shelf mentions an interlock at all.

Compared with the neighboring coffee machines

These coffee machines share the category and the price bracket. Only what each one states is shown; an incomplete column would mislead.

Model Price Grind settingsBurrHopper capacityWeight (as listed)
SHARDOR US-CG835B2004 $40 16Flat, metallic burr millNot stated by the maker1,157 g (40.8 oz)
Amazon Basics CG9413-UL $34 30Flat6.5 oz1,678 g (59.2 oz)
AMZCHEF CG209-SV $80 48Conical, 40 mm (1.57 in), stainless steel10.6 oz2,449 g (86.4 oz)
OXO 8720800 $80 15, plus 29 micro-adjustmentsConical, stainless steel50 g (1.8 oz), for up to 6 cups / 30 oz of coffee1,844 g (65 oz)

The difference between the models, in coffee machines

  • If price decides: Amazon Basics CG9413-UL, at $34.
  • Highest Weight (as listed) in the table: AMZCHEF CG209-SV (2,449 g (86.4 oz)).

Today’s price and availability, for coffee machines

Details checked on October 4, 2026.

This one and its buyer, among coffee machines

A first burr grinder for drip, pour-over or French press, where stopping itself matters more than a specification sheet

What buyers actually choose

Amazon reports what buyers took in the month before this page was last checked: at least 3,000.

The figure is a floor, rounded by Amazon, and read through Keepa — it says what buyers picked, not what a maker claims.

Sources

Specifications: the manufacturer sheet for coffee equipment and the matching Amazon product page. Prices and availability: Keepa. Every figure on this page names its source.

The way we judge these coffee machines