Skip to content

Breville BREBCG820BSSXL review

Sixty settings, dosing in 0.2-second steps, and the only published portafilter cradle sizes on the shelf: 50–54 mm (1.97 to 2.13 in) and 58 mm (2.28 in).

Where we land on it The only grinder here that can dose straight into a portafilter and tell you which baskets it fits — and the only one that publishes a wattage. If you own an espresso machine, the shelf stops being a comparison and becomes a single answer.

What the maker puts in writing

  • Grind settings: 60
  • Dose control: digital time, 0.2-second increments, LCD
  • Hopper: 18 oz
  • Power: 165 W · Voltage: 110–120 V
  • Warranty: 2 years
  • Portafilter cradles: 50–54 mm (1.97 to 2.13 in) and 58 mm (2.28 in)

Six figures. The next most forthcoming grinder on this shelf publishes four.

The one fact that decides this shelf

Five of the seven grinders here will fill a container. This one will fill a portafilter, and it is the only one that says which portafilters: Portafilter Cradle – Small 50 - 54mm (1.97 to 2.13 in), Portafilter Cradle – Large 58mm (2.28 in).

If you own an espresso machine, that single line removes a step from every shot you ever pull with it, and it removes the guesswork from buying. If you brew filter, it buys you nothing at all, and the shelf opens back up.

The timer, read against the rest of the rack

Precision digital time allows you to adjust and program grind time in 0.2 second increments.

Two grinders here dose by time with a published step: this one at 0.2 seconds, the AMZCHEF at 0.5 seconds up to 40 seconds. Two dose by cups — SHARDOR 2 to 14, Amazon Basics 4 to 12. The OXO pair use a dial of grinding time with no increment stated. The Baratza has neither: an on/off switch and a pulse button.

That is a real ladder, and it is published end to end.

Where this listing stops short

No burr diameter. The OXO above it, the Baratza below it and the AMZCHEF all say 40 mm (1.57 in); this one says Conical Burr and leaves it there. On the most expensive grinder on the shelf, that is the one number a buyer comparing on paper would expect to find.

Availability

Read on the day this page was built: $160 at the American Amazon shop.

Read from Keepa on the day this page was last revised; stock and price both move without notice.

What it gets right, and wrong

Strengths

  • The only grinder on this shelf that states which portafilter baskets it fits — 50–54 mm (1.97 to 2.13 in) and 58 mm (2.28 in) — rather than leaving an espresso owner to measure
  • The only one that publishes a wattage and a voltage: 165 W at 110–120 V
  • Doses by time in 0.2-second steps, the finest published increment here; the next finest is 0.5 seconds
  • Two-year warranty, against one year from the only other grinder that states one at all

Compromises

  • The most expensive thing on the shelf, and the heaviest at 2,898 g (102.2 oz) as listed
  • Publishes no burr diameter, which the three grinders below it do
  • Sixty settings is a number without a reference point: nothing in the listing says how far apart two neighboring settings are

Where this one stands among its neighbors

At $160, it is the 7 cheapest of the 7 models in this category published here.

  • Least costly of the neighbors$34
  • Median$80
  • Most costly of the neighbors$160

Specifications

Grind settings60
BurrConical
Burr diameterNot stated by the maker
Dose controlBy time, in 0.2-second increments, on an LCD
Hopper capacity18 oz
Grinds intoPortafilter, airtight container, gold-tone filter basket or paper filter
Portafilter cradles50–54 mm (1.97 to 2.13 in) and 58 mm (2.28 in), both included
Power165 W at 110–120 V
Warranty2-year limited product warranty
Weight (as listed)2,898 g (102.2 oz)
Amazon referenceB00OXGXW8O
EAN0021614056559

What people want to know

Will it fit my espresso machine?

It ships with two portafilter cradles, 50–54 mm (1.97 to 2.13 in) and 58 mm (2.28 in). Those two sizes cover most domestic machines, and they are the only cradle dimensions published by any grinder on this shelf — everywhere else you would be measuring and hoping.

What does dosing in 0.2-second steps actually buy you?

It sets how finely you can tune the amount that lands in the basket. The only other grinder here with a published time step is the AMZCHEF, at 0.5 seconds up to 40 seconds. The remaining five dose by cups, or by a dial with no stated increment.

Is 60 settings better than the Baratza’s 40?

The listings do not say, and nothing in them makes the two numbers comparable: neither maker publishes the step size between settings. What is published and does separate them is that this one has a timer and the Baratza has an on/off switch and a pulse button.

Does it come with anything?

The listing names the contents: both portafilter cradles, a grinds container with a lid sealing cap, the conical burr and a cleaning brush.

Compared with the neighboring coffee machines

These coffee machines share the category and the price bracket. Only what each one states is shown; an incomplete column would mislead.

Model Price Grind settingsBurrDose controlHopper capacity
Breville BREBCG820BSSXL $160 60ConicalBy time, in 0.2-second increments, on an LCD18 oz
Baratza ENCORE $150 40Conical, 40 mm (1.57 in), commercial-gradeOn/off switch and a front-mounted pulse buttonNot stated by the maker
OXO 8717000 $99 15, plus 43 micro-adjustmentsConical, 40 mm (1.57 in), stainless steelOne-touch start; remembers the last setting12 oz
AMZCHEF CG209-SV $80 48Conical, 40 mm (1.57 in), stainless steelLED touchscreen: 2–12 cups, or timed to 40 s in 0.5 s steps, plus a manual mode10.6 oz

The difference between the models, in coffee machines

  • If price decides: AMZCHEF CG209-SV, at $80.

Today’s price and availability, for coffee machines

Details checked on October 4, 2026.

This one and its buyer, among coffee machines

An espresso machine owner who wants to grind into the portafilter and knows their basket size

What buyers actually choose

Amazon reports what buyers took in the month before this page was last checked: at least 1,000.

The figure is a floor, rounded by Amazon, and read through Keepa — it says what buyers picked, not what a maker claims.

Sources

Specifications: the manufacturer sheet for coffee equipment and the matching Amazon product page. Prices and availability: Keepa. Every figure on this page names its source.

The way we judge these coffee machines